A Healthy Gamer is a Better Gamer

Playing video games is what I love to do the most. You can say I’ve spent a majority of my life playing games ever since I got my first Nintendo system way back when. Being able to sit back, relax, and forget about the woes of the world is enticing to anyone. On the other side of things, playing as much as I do, I need to make sure I keep my body fit and active, as well as my mind and trigger finger.

As I said, I play a lot of video games. For hours on end, I’ll just sit back and do nothing but play what ever game I fancy at the moment. However, I’m careful to not do damage to my body. As we all know, sitting down for hours day after day can cause health issues. That is why I split my time between school, work, games, and the gym. As you’ve probably guessed, my days are pretty busy. School and work are no brainers; I need to work to have money in order to buy more games, and I need to study to get a better job so that I can get even more money to buy games. The gym, on the other hand, is something a lot of people look over.

Here at Let’s Talk Games, we care about the well being of our readers and fellow gamers. That’s why today, I’ll be giving you some easy, at home workouts that any gamer can do to keep active even while playing video games. So, let’s talk health, shall we?

It’s All About Dedication

Do you remember that boss that kept kicking your ass, and no matter how many times you replayed the level, you just couldn’t beat him? I’m looking at you, Dark Souls series! What got you passed that obstacle? Sure it could have been blind luck, but most likely it was you’re perseverance and dedication as a player. The same thing applies to real life, whether you want to pursue a career, learn a new skill, or stay healthy.

As a gamer, of course I would rather play an extra two or three hours instead of going to the gym, but how would that benefit me in the long term? When I decided to start a gym membership, I had a couple of reasons:

  1. I wanted to keep active, since when you’re playing video games, there is very little physical activity going on.
  2. I knew that if I didn’t do something to burn all the excess calories I was taking in, my weight and body fat would sky rocket.
  3. I wanted to prevent any possibilities of health issues in the future, like heart problems, high blood pressure, or blood clots.
  4. I wanted to stay fit so that I could not only enjoy the games I love a lot longer, but to enjoy my friends and family as well.

Even with all the reasons I have for working out, they don’t matter if I’m not dedicated. I don’t always want to go to the gym, and even when I go, I don’t always want to push myself. But, I stay with it, because I know that it’s worth it. So the first tip I can offer to you is this: once you decide to start, don’t stop. It doesn’t matter if it’s only a hundred push-ups a day, or a mile a day, don’t stop.

Ever Pro was Once a Noob

I don’t know if you’ve already been working out, or if you’ve never worked out in your life, but it doesn’t matter. We all need to start somewhere. Just like that pro gamer you know was once a noob, so was Arnold Schwarzenegger once a skinny little kid.

Now, this isn’t a fitness blog, and I am no health guru, but I do know some things that can help my readers and fellow gamers stay healthy. Sure, some workouts are harder than others, but for today’s sake, I’m assuming that, like me, your time is limited. Since anyone would rather be playing games than working out, let’s start with some quick yet effective workouts.

Push-ups

The very basic exercise that everyone is familiar with, the push-up is a well rounded workout that targets your core, arms, and chest. Different varieties of push-ups target other parts of the body, but for this post, I’ll focus on the basic version.

  1. On a level surface, lie down on you stomach.
  2. Your feet should be pressed together.
  3. Your arms should be shoulder width apart.
  4. Once you are comfortable with the position of your arms/feet, lift off the ground.
  5. Once in the push up position, make sure your back and neck are STRAIGHT. Do not sag or raise you back/butt in a hump.
  6. Tighten your core (your abs).
  7. Lower your self until you chest almost touches the floor. Make sure your elbows move back towards your feet, and not out to your sides.
  8. Keep your core tight and your back straight. (I inhale as I go down).
  9. Once you’re all the way down, wait a second, then lift back up.
  10. Again, keep back straight and core tight.
  11. That is one push-up.

push-up-exercise

This workout can be done in different reps. I like to do what I call pyramid push-ups, where I done one push-up, rest, do two, rest, do three, rest, and continue to go up until I’ve done ten. Once I’ve done ten, I work my way back down. Do nine, rest, do eight, rest, do seven, and so on.

You can do that, or you can do ten sets of ten, where you do ten push-ups, rest, do ten more, rest, and continue until you’ve done ten sets.

Jumping Squats

Squats are excellent for a number of reasons. Not only do they improve the muscles in the legs and gluts, but since they target the largest group of muscle, they also burn more calories. To add an extra kick, doing jump squats will increase your heart rate and burn more calories.

  1. Start by standing on a level surface, feet shoulder width apart, hands out in front of you or at your sides.
  2. Once in position, squat down. Keep your back STRAIGHT. Your butt should move out behind you, as if you’re going to sit down.
  3. Depending on you level, you can go all the way down, or until your knees are at a 90 degree angle.
  4. Hold for a second, then explode up. Make sure to jump with you legs. You can also pump your arms down if you want.
  5. Land softly, with a bend at the knees, to avoid damage in the long term.
  6. That is one rep.

jump-squats-2

Like I said, the added jump works your muscles pretty good. I don’t usually have a specific set for this, but to start, do as many as you can for thirty seconds, then rest, then repeat.

Crunches

The one part of your body that you absolutely should never ignore is your core. Your core is essential for all the movements you make, and a strong core means you can do push ups, squats, and any other exercise more efficiently. Sit-ups, though not the most effective form of ab workouts, are the most common. Another good exercise are crunches.

  1. On a level surface, sit down with your knees lifted in the shape of an “A”.
  2. Lay back, and bring your hands to the side of your head. DO NOT wrap you hands behind your head.
  3. Left your feet up until your knees are at a 90 degree angle.
  4. Raise your upper body USING YOUR CORE as high as you can.
  5. Hold for a second, then relax and lower your upper body to the floor.
  6. That is one rep.

a39d823e-f0e5-405c-99ac-07f9c7db0f0a.gif

Do these the same way you would so the jumping squats. Do as many as you can for thirty seconds, then rest for a few seconds, then repeat.

Leveling Up

These workouts are basic, but they are effective, and should help a busy gamer with staying active after a few hours of playing video games. However, you should consider applying for a gym membership. I know not a lot of people like to do this, but hear me out. A gym membership is more beneficial than you might think. Many gyms offer hour long classes with personal trainers that can be more helpful in staying fit and keeping active. Having a gym membership also adds another layer of responsibility to yourself, since you’re paying to workout now, you can’t have any excuses not to.

Even if you don’t go to a gym, that doesn’t mean you can’t improve on your own at your house. There are many workouts you can do, including cardio workouts, which are the most essential when it comes to burning calories.

Burpees

You should already be good a doing proper push-ups, so take it up a notch. Just like in video games, you can use “combos” for a more effective attack.

  1. Begin with a squat, but this time go all the way down until your hands reach the floor.
  2. Kick you legs out into the push-up position.
  3. Do one push-up.
  4. Once up, pull you legs back underneath you USING YOUR CORE.
  5. Jump up as high as you can, with arms extended vertically.
  6. That is one rep.

burpees4

Doing this in sets with rotating reps helps keep you heart pumping and your body fit. Do a set of ten, then rest, then do a set of eight, the rest, then do a set of six. Once you’ve reached six, got back up. Burpees are wonderful because the workout a ton of muscle groups and are a good cardio workout.

Extending Crunches

These go by many names, but they are effective because they both work as a stabilizing exercise as well as an ab workout.

  1. Get in the sit up position.
  2. Lay back, and extand your legs out until you’re laying flat.
  3. Lift your legs and you upper body up a few inches USING YOUR CORE.
  4. Pull you knees in while simultaneously lifting your upper body as if you are doing a regular sit up.
  5. Hold for a second.
  6. Extend yourself back down, but DO NOT let your feet/upper body touch the ground.
  7. Keep your core tight, and repeat.

v-sit-ups_0

Do the same sets as the you would crunches. Of course, these won’t get you the six pack you’ve been dreaming of, but they’ll work your core out so that, when you’ve shed some layers of fat, it’ll be easier to do ab sculpting workouts.

A Gamer’s Body is a Temple

At the end of the day, anything you do to stay active, as long as you dedicate yourself to it, will be effective. Like I said, this isn’t a health blog, but as a gamer who has seen first hand what neglecting one’s health can do, I hope I was able to provide at least a minimum amount of help to my readers and fellow gamers. Now that I’ve done my part, remember to eat healthy, and continue to stay active, especially if you play as much video games as I do.

As gamers, we of all people should want to lead long and happy lives, playing the latest and greatest addictions to our favorite franchises. In that spirit, keeping in mind our health is an easy, and important task. I hope this post was helpful, and I hope you have a great day.

If you want to read more about video games, please follow my blog, and be sure to like us on Facebook as well.

Peace.

superhero-workout.gif

One thought on “A Healthy Gamer is a Better Gamer

Leave a Reply

